Board of Directors

The governing body of the NCSBA is its 31-member Board of Directors. The Board is composed of the Association President, President-Elect, Vice President, Treasurer, Immediate Past President, members elected by the Association at the annual Delegate Assembly, and any member of a North Carolina county or city board of education who is also an officer or director, or former officer or director of the National School Boards Association or the Southern Regional School Boards Association. The Board of Directors plans and is responsible for the annual delegate assembly and other meetings of the Association. The Board has general charge and control of the affairs of the Association and may act in all matters for the Association between sessions of the Delegate Assembly. Officers and Directors are elected each November during the Delegate Assembly at the NCSBA Annual Conference.

Access Simbli board meeting materials here


Amy Churchill President

Buncombe County

Lucy Edwards President-Elect

Northampton County

Darrell Pennell Vice President

Caldwell County

Jennifer Thompson Treasurer

Cherokee Central

Brenda Stephens Immediate Past President

2020-21 Raleigh Dingman Orange County


Margaret Bradsher

Person County

Patricia Burden

Wayne County

Thelma Byers-Bailey


Dot Cherry

Gaston County

Ben Cooke

Mount Airy

Worley Edwards

Columbus County

Allison Gant


Mac Hodges

Beaufort County

Dr. Debbie Marsh

Mooresville Graded

Charles McKellar

Cumberland County

Dr. Terri Mosley

Surry County

Dub Potts

Davie County

Past Presidents’ Council

Billy Griffin

2018-19 President Jones County

Carr Ipock

2016-2017 President Craven County

Paige Sayles

2014-2015 President Franklin County

Evelyn Bulluck

2012-2013 President Nash County

Chuck Francis

2011-2012 President Haywood County

Wendell Hall

2009-2010 President Hertford County

Linda Cranford

2004-2005 President Asheboro City

Leonard Peace

2000-2001 President Granville County

Dr. Christine Fitch

1996-1997 President Wilson County

Ramona PowersBoard of Directors